Facebook, Twitter and Sports Marketing

Standard

facebook-f1A great example of a major sports brand leveraging Facebook is the Chicago Blackhawks.

After years  of frustrating marketing efforts, the Blackhawks are currently enjoying a renaissance both on and off the ice. One way that the Blackhawks are effectively engaging their market is through social media, notably Facebook.

Click here to view the Official Facebook Page of the Chicago Blackhawks.

Just like any business working with social media, the Blackhawks are now participating in the conversation about their brand, product and industry by engaging their market on Facebook.  Social media is a great fit for sports leagues and teams. I have reviewed how the NHL member clubs are using Facebook as part of their marketing strategy and the Blackhawks have the strongest presence in my opinion.

hawks-on-fbHere are the key points of what makes the Blackhawk’s Facebook Page successful:

  • There is a lot of great “official” content and videos for fans to view
  • Strong fan engagement and content in dialogue and photo submissions
  • Posting of a download-able monthly schedule and screen saver
  • A link to their mobile marketing campaign
  • A listing of events and player signings
  • A tab for the Blackhawks Twitter feed
  • A link for Facebook fans to get special pricing on tickets*
* This offer is now disabled, but was at one time the landing page.

Click here to view the Blackhawks on Twitter

The Blackhawks have one of the sharpest customized Twitter pages that I have seen to date. In addition to team news, they also post game play updates and they have been growing followers quickly since I have been checking in on them.

The Blackhawks Twitter feed is following several other profession sports teams on Twitter – take a minute to review them to see how other teams (NBA, MLB, etc…) are using Twitter.

In Summary…

The Blackhawks are industry leaders in fan engagement via social media. They do an excellent job of carrying and facilitating the conversation surrounding their brand and making the most of places like Facebook and Twitter – where their fans already are active.

The path forward will inevitable tie in sponsorship opportunities – as fan and follower bases grow in numbers, teams need to be careful how they attempt to integrate sponsorship activation. This is an exciting time for sports marketing and social media.

22 thoughts on “Facebook, Twitter and Sports Marketing

  1. Hey, thanks for the link, even if it was possibly automatically generated.

    I think it’s a no-brainer for fans, but i think brands can get into it. I finally convinced a brand to invest in the ‘making of’ a TV spot to share on Facebook. I think that’s the kind of thing that fans want to see — behind the scenes looks.

    Good for the Blackhawks.

  2. Jennifer Olney

    Great story! I think the NHL teams are really becoming more and more cutting edge with the use of internet, surprisingly, they have found that their fanbase is more tech savy and have made the virtual leap into the space.

  3. Agreed – the fan base is already participating in social media, and so now teams are showing up there too. With such strong brands, sports organizations are well suited to leverage their presence in these communities.

    Thanks for your comment, Jennifer.

  4. Matt – a contact of mine who works in marketing for the Canucks used the term “closer to the team” via social media… there are great opportunities here. This is why so many fans follow @the_real_shaq on Twitter – because it’s authentic.

    BTW, nice to meet you here on WordPress…

  5. I just read that Charlie Villanuava actually wrote a tweet at halftime of his game vs the Celtics. This is becoming the next big step for marketing I wonder if business will add social networks to the marketing budget?

  6. Thanks for the info Alan – 2 points come to mind:

    1- That teams should be increasingly aware of players’ use of social media, and possibly look to integrate this into a policy
    2- Social media ROI (RE: marketing budget) is not so much an investment in dollars, but time… (ROT?)

  7. Brendan

    I am a huge sports fans and Twitter user and that’s why I started the Sports on Twitter list (http://tinyurl.com/sportsontwitter) and its companion blog http://www.sportsin140.com to help publicize verified professional athletes, teams, leagues, colleges and universities, media members and sports bloggers that are using Twitter to communicate with a global audience. If you’re looking for more athletes and teams on Twitter, the Sports on Twitter list is worth checking out.

  8. I am not certain where you are getting your information, however great topic.
    I needs to spend some time learning more or figuring
    out more. Thanks for magnificent info I was in search of this info for my mission.

  9. It’s awesome to pay a quick visit this website and reading the views of all mates regarding this post, while I am also zealous of getting experience.

  10. I do believe all the ideas you’ve introduced for your post. They’re very convincing and can certainly work.
    Still, the posts are very brief for novices. May you
    please extend them a bit from subsequent time? Thank you for the
    post.

  11. Undeniably believe that which you said. Your favorite justification seemed
    to be on the net the easiest thing to be aware of.
    I say to you, I definitely get annoyed while people think about worries that they just
    don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also defined out the whole thing without having side effect , people can take a signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

  12. Hey terrific blog! Does running a blog similar to this take a massive
    amount work? I have no expertise in computer programming but I was hoping to start my own blog
    in the near future. Anyhow, should you have any recommendations or tips for
    new blog owners please share. I understand this is off topic but I simply had to ask.
    Appreciate it!

  13. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you
    knew of any widgets I could add to my blog that
    automatically tweet my newest twitter updates. I’ve been looking for a plug-in
    like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with
    something like this. Please let me know if you run
    into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

  14. I own a .info web domain hosted on 50webs. I have tried uploading via FTP from Blogger but I keep getting java errors. Is there an easier way of having Blog type software on my website? Or what is your suggestion for the BEST blog site to use that lets you use your own domain as a homepage for your blog..

  15. Awesome site you have here but I was wondering if you knew of any community forums that
    cover the same topics discussed here? I’d really love to be a part of online community where I can get suggestions from other knowledgeable people that
    share the same interest. If you have any
    suggestions, please let me know. Many thanks!

  16. We are a gaggle of volunteers and startring a brand new scheme in our
    community. Your websitge offered us with valuable information to work on. You
    have performed an impressive activity and ourr entire group can be thankful tto you.

Leave a Reply

