Social Media and B2B Sales

Standard

There is much discussion about ROI and social media.

Everyone loves marketing but no one loves sales (aww…). Marketing is sexy, but sales does the dirty work. Sales is the bottom line – what good is any marketing unless it is transitioned into real sales? (Answer: none)

The big “I” in ROI is the investment in time – not dollars – as far as social media is concerned.

If you are spending your resources’ time on social media – how can the results be measured? Just like any marketing initiative, there must be a path to sales. In B2B sales, social media can be leveraged as a networking tool by both the sales force as well as at the organizational level.

Social Media and the Sales Force

Social media can allow sellers to engage their market(s) in order to be involved and participate in conversations. For the purposes of this post – I am sticking with social media at the rep level – but there are exciting things happening at the organizational level through social media that allows the conversation to shift to brand (another time…).

A contact of mine recently brought up a great point – there are 2 types of technology that that no sales person ever has to be taught to use… the phone and the car. Why? Because the rep sees a direct correlation from using the technology to getting them closer to the conversation. But these 2 types of technology have something else in common – they were invented over 100 years ago!

That doesn’t mean old is bad – it means that new can be good too. Some where, right now, through social media… your industry is discussing goals and challenges. Maybe even your brand is being discussed – these are places where sellers need to be. Measuring the “I” – the investment of their time is the same as any other business development activity. How many hours did you or your sales team cold call last week and what were the results? Spend the same amount of time on a focused social media engagement strategy. Now you will have something to measure.

Coming up next post… how and where sellers can do this.

45 thoughts on “Social Media and B2B Sales

  1. I was suggested this web site by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my difficulty. You’re amazing!
    Thanks!

  2. First off I want to say great blog! I had a quick question that
    I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was curious to know how you center yourself and clear your thoughts before writing. I’ve
    had a tough time clearing my mind in getting my ideas out.
    I truly do enjoy writing however it just seems like
    the first 10 to 15 minutes tend to be lost simply just trying to figure out how to begin.
    Any ideas or tips? Thank you!

  3. Hi there to every one, as I am genuinely eager of reading this webpage’s post to be updated regularly. It carries fastidious information.

  4. Howdy! I understand this is somewhat off-topic but I needed to ask.
    Does running a well-established blog like yours require a lot of work?
    I am completely new to blogging however I do write in my journal everyday.
    I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my personal experience and thoughts online. Please let me know if you have any kind of recommendations or tips for brand new aspiring blog owners. Appreciate it!

  5. We’re a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community. Your web site provided us with valuable info to work on. You have done an impressive job and our whole community will be thankful to you.

  6. Very quickly this website will be famous amid all blogging and site-building visitors, due to it’s pleasant articles or reviews

  7. Your social button module is not working right, at least it’s not on my end. Doesn’t
    appear to work no matter what I do. Desired to
    give you a like, but I can’t. Sorry.

  8. With havin so much content and articles do you ever run into any issues of plagorism or copyright violation?

    My blog has a lot of completely unique content I’ve either written myself or outsourced but it looks like a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my authorization. Do you know any solutions to help stop content from being stolen? I’d genuinely appreciate it.

  9. I was curious if you ever thought of changing the structure of your site?
    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.
    But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect
    with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having
    one or 2 images. Maybe you could space it out better?

  10. hey there and thank you for your information ā€“ I
    have definitely picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise a few technical points using this site,
    since I experienced to reload the site many times previous to I could get it to load properly.

    I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK?
    Not that I am complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will often affect your
    placement in google and can damage your high quality score if advertising and marketing with
    Adwords. Well I’m adding this RSS to my email and can look out for much more of your respective exciting content. Ensure that you update this again very soon.

  11. I was pretty pleased to discover this page. I want to to thank you for your
    time just for this wonderful read!! I definitely really liked every bit of it and i also have you bookmarked
    to look at new things in your website.

  12. Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve visited this web site before but after browsing through many of the articles I realized it’s new
    to me. Anyways, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back often!

  13. Hi I am so excited I found your blog, I really found you by mistake, while
    I was searching on Bing for something else, Regardless I am here now and
    would just like to say cheers for a incredible post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the
    theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it all at the moment but I have saved it
    and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to
    read more, Please do keep up the great work.

  14. Can i utilize a lollypop hammer to smash the jelly?
    I at times have 2 jelly spots remaining on my last transfer and i do not desire to squander
    my totally free lolly’s if it wont impact the jelly.

  15. Provide some thing somewhat more distinctive?
    šŸ™‚ Let’s say, critical reviews or possibly blog
    posts for home tech gadgets for the elderly. How do I sign up for your articles?
    šŸ™‚

  16. Howdy! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading this post reminds me of my good
    old room mate! He always kept chatting about this.
    I will forward this write-up to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read.
    Thank you for sharing!

  17. You can either create fictional characters and create
    a completely unrealistic fairy tale like story. You can
    also very well inject humor at any part of the conversation.
    Imagine this scenario: You are hanging out with a group of your friends, having a good time, and then oops.

  18. The main thing to remember is to make sure you give out something of value and your promotional marketing efforts will be effective.
    The site of this Las Vegas house ā€“ 2180 De Rouge AV is really interesting.
    Be sure to complete your transaction through their online form.

  19. My developer is trying to convince me to move to .net from PHP.
    I have always disliked the idea because of the expenses.

    But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using WordPress on numerous websites
    for about a year and am nervous about switching to another platform.
    I have heard very good things about blogengine.net.

    Is there a way I can transfer all my wordpress content into it?
    Any kind of help would be really appreciated!

  20. Thanks for one’s marvelous posting! I quite enjoyed reading it, you could
    be a great author. I will remember to bookmark your blog and may
    come back sometime soon. I want to encourage
    you to definitely continue your great work, have
    a nice morning!

  21. Good luck with using these tips to earn the money that you’re looking for in your business.
    The important thing to take-away in the project is that marketing on it involves communication not advertising.
    Smaller sites or products have less marketing involved
    and thus less room for growth.

  22. Definitely believe that which you said. Your favorite reason seemed to
    be on the web the easiest thing to be aware of. I say to you,
    I definitely get irked while people think about worries that they plainly don’t know about.

    You managed to hit the nail upon the top and defined out the whole thing without having side-effects , people can take a signal.
    Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

Leave a Reply

